Recipes for your barbecue

BBQ

Chicken, lamb, sausages & wedges

Summer at home in the UK is all about BBQs, whether you host one, gatecrash or get invited – you can’t escape the grilling. This is the first year I’ve spent hosting lots of BBQs – I say hosting, because I don’t actually stand over the grill…but I do all the prep. That’s what I enjoy most – the seasoning, marinating and occasionally the basting.  Hottest flavours for me this summer is spicy cajun chicken.

🙂 Tip from me: spread a little olive oil over your meat once it’s nicely seasoned to really mesh your spices together and keep it moist.

🙂 Tip from my neighbour: sprinkle some fresh rosemary onto your coals and the flavour infuses with your meat or veg whilst cooking

Home-made barbecue sauce

I’ve been perfecting my own home made bbq sauce.  Everyone I speak to has a secret ingredient or two.  Naturally I don’t want to give away the core essence of my home-made sauce… but I do have a hot tip below if you continue reading.  For those of you who’ve never tried making your own sauce, I’ve listed a base recipe for you to try and then I suggest you start experimenting to add your own favourite secret additions.  Fry your garlic and onions first until softened and then just throw all the ingredients into a pot and bring to the boil before simmering over a gentle heat.   It’s very easy to make these sauces and there are so many variation and websites that list them.  I’m interested to hear your suggestions too.

Barbecue Sauce ingredients

  • Oil
  • 3 cloves garlic crushed
  • 300 ml /10fl oz tomato ketchup
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 55 grams /20z muscovado sugar
  • 2 tablespoons chilli sauce
  • 50 ml soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoom wine vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon Chinese five spice
  • Salt & pepper

🙂 Hot tip from me: I recommend you try adding ‘molasses’ to the standard recipe and I guarantee you’ll love it.

Leave a Reply

