Julia & Julia – my fishy challenge

Inspired by the movie Julie and Julia, I’ve decided to set myself a few small challenges. For those of you who’ve not seen it yet, the film follows a year in Julie Powell’s life when she set herself the challenge of cooking every recipe from Julia Child’s cookbook ‘Mastering the Art of French Cooking’, whilst blogging about her experience. The film has been heavily criticised for not having enough content about the actual ‘recipes’ or cooking but in my opinion that was just part of the story. One of the many elements I loved were the ways in which ideas which developed from thin air or rather how the ideas grew and morphed into bigger ideas.

It got me thinking about developing my own cooking challenge. I started thinking about doing the same thing as Julia and working my way through a famous cookery book. But I’m too fussy to cook things I really don’t like. I want to eat and try everything I cook.

So I’ve set myself the challenge of cooking fish at least once a week and trying out a new recipe every time for the next 6 months. Why 6 months? Well, a year seems terminally long at this point and I may be taking my next holiday in 6 months. Therefore a good point to celebrate and set a new challenge.

I’m not loyal to any particular chef or author – I do have my favourites but I don’t mind where the recipe originates from so I’m just going to work my way through various recipe books that I own, favourite blogs like Chocolate and Zuicchini (food related blog by a Parisian woman), and favourite sites like Video Jug (professionally made videos and articles about any topic).

Recipe 1 / Month 1 / Fish meal 1
Seared Tuna with Gated Ginger and Chives

Difficulty: easy to master, quick to ruin
Taste: melt in your mouth texture with an oriental flavour
Verdict: mouth-wateringly delicious
Method: simply marinate your tuna in some soya sauce and rub a little sesame oil on it before you sear it for 2 (rare) – 4 (medium) mins in a hot non-stick frying pan. Place a small drop of soya sauce in the centre of your blob of grated ginger. You can cut the tuna into thin slices and dip it into your ginger to taste.

Leave a Reply

