BBQ sauce

What is it that makes people want to covet their BBQ sauce recipe?  I’m no exception so this is just merely a muse on my part.  I do like to hold back at least one element of the recipe or method in the hope of maintaining an element of surprise once it’s eaten by others.  I’ve tried a few store bought marinades in the past and have quite often been sorely disappointed, even after marinading for a few hours.  The meat often tastes nice but not particularly flavoursome.  One exception to this has been Levi Root’s Reggae Regae sauce which is also great for curries and stews.  Levi has a delicious glazed chicken recipe which I’d readily recommend trying.  He’s got a great tip for making sure your chicken doesn’t burn quickly or look burnt 🙂 and that is to ‘take care to remove excess sauce before adding the chicken to the grill but remember to baste throughout to ensure a moist sticky chicken breast.

BBQ chicken

Turning and basting the chicken

We had another bbq yesterday and the weather wasn’t quite up to it, but that wasn’t going to stop me trying to perfect my sauce once more.  I keep tweaking the measurements and I think I’ve got the sweet/sticky combination I’m after with the following:

  • Oil
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 red onion chopped
  • 300 ml tomato ketchup
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 2 0z muscovado sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of molasses
  • 2 tablespoons chilli sauce
  • 50 ml soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon wine vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon Chinese 5 spice
  • Salt & pepper
Leave a Reply

