Caribbean stew chicken

Strangely enough, Caribbean stew chicken is a dish I’ve never made before today,although I’ve eaten it many times at various friends and relatives.  I’m usually serving up chicken curry or chicken pilau rice which I must blog about soon!  My sister pointed me in the direction of Caribbeanpot who has shared his version of Caribbean stew on his Youtube channel.  I’ve tried it out anCaribbean stew chickend can say it’s delicious.

I couldn’t resist adding my own touch with a couple of extra ingredients.  The recipe is below, so let me know what you think.  I’ve used chicken thighs but you can use drumsticks and other pieces.

Mix the following ingredients together and spread it over your chicken – leave it to marinade for a few hours or overnight:

 

 

 

1 onion

1 tomato

a handful of parsley & thyme

Salt

2 green chillies

When you’re ready to start cooking, heat your pan with some oil and put 1 tbs of brown sugar to caramelise.  Once this happens, add your chicken (drain off the marinade first) and brown it whilst the fire is high.  Once it’s browned, add 100 ml of water and the rest of the marinade. Add a cinnamon stick to the pot and leave it to simmer for 20-30 mins (depending on the whether your chicken has bones or not).   Have this with some piping hot basmati rice and you’ll love it.

Leave a Reply

